Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

#SaludTues – Ensuring Healthy Hearts During COVID-19

March 3 @ 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Heart disease is the primary cause of death in the United States, and Latinxs are often uninformed of their risk for heart disease.

Specifically, Mexican Americans have greater levels of uncontrolled blood pressure than non-Latinx whites. They are also less likely to get treatment for high blood pressure.

As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to spread throughout the US, experts say people who have underlying health conditions should guard against COVID-19.

Let’s use #SaludTues on March 02, 2021, to tweetchat about ways to promote heart health for Latinxs and all people during COVID-19!

WHAT: #SaludTues: Ensuring Healthy Hearts During COVID-19!

TIME/DATE: 1-2 p.m. EST (Noon-1 p.m. CST), Tuesday, March 02, 2021

WHERE: On Twitter with hashtag #SaludTues

HOST: @SaludAmerica

CO-HOSTS: @VocesenSalud, @PublicHealthMap@TheHeartTruth,  @MinorityHealth

We’ll open the floor to your comments, tips, and stories as we explore:

  • Heart disease and COVID-19-related exposures
  • Ways to prevent heart disease among Latinos and all
  • The relationship between heart disease and lack of physical activity

#SaludTues is a health equity Tweetchat especially focused on the Hispanic/Latino population at 12 p.m. CT/1 p.m. ET every Tuesday hosted by the @SaludAmerica

Details

Date:
March 3
Time:
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags:
, , , , , ,
Website:
https://twitter.com/search?f=realtime&q=%23saludtues&src=typd

Organizers

Salud America!
The Heart Truth
CA Office of Minority Health
Voces en Salud